Short cake for grownups

When I was a kid, my mom always ruined strawberries by getting them home, slicing them up and then adding sugar. Only when I was an adult did I learn that the fancy french word for this is ‘macerating’ and it draws the juice out of the berries. At any event, I had some strawberries in my icebox that looked a little tired, I was hungry for sweets, and I ended up with a shortcake-like wonderful desert.

First, I macerated the strawberries, not in sugar, but with a couple of spoonfuls of Strawberry Jam with Basil and Balsamic Vinegar. Second, I heated up a buttermilk biscuit I got from Honest Biscuits at the Queen Anne Farmers Market. I spread that biscuit with some goat cheese from Little Brown Farm, and draped the berries over the top. Wonderful, wonderful.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

