Impulse shopping at the Farmers Market

 

I often spend time a the farmers markets impulse buying, sometimes trading, sometimes thinking I’m stocking up. I’ll end up with a box of groceries, and being who I am, they often don’t make sense. So, after a weekend at the Farmers Market, I ended up with these items: A nice chicken from Crown S Ranch

Potatoes from Hedlin Family Farms

Shallots from Alm Hill Farms and garlic from Jones Creek Orchard:

Baby turnips from Hand Farm Organics

And celery root (Celeriac) from Hand Farm Organics:

Lastly, a great loaf of Jewish Rye from Snohomish Bakery

I’m a single guy, and I don’t have much time to cook, so this is what I did. I cranked the oven up to 425, I did chicken bondage on the bird and put it in the oven. No seasoning, just a little salt and pepper.

I cut up all the veggies into nice, not too big, chunks.

tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper, and spread them out on a sheet.

When the bird had been in the oven for 30 minutes, I put the veggies in. After 10 more minutes I pulled the chicken out, added some chopped garlic to the veggies, gave them a stir and cooked them for another 10 minutes, while the chicken rested from its labors.

The result: this nice dinner, served with a little green salad and a slice of bread.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Photos, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

