The Jam Business

I started this blog, but haven’t kept up with it very well, being somewhat intimidated¬†by the WordPress¬†format. I still can’t figure out how to link to Facebook.

Sold at the Fremont Market on Sunday, but with little success. It was cold and rainy. Generally people dont’ buy my jams unless they taste them, but when they do they really enjoy them. It’s such a pleasure to have people like my products and talk about interesting things. Although I do get a bunch of “I canned 200 quarts of peaches last year” folks, I don’t mind them either.

I cannot express deeply enough my lust for local berries. I’m running out of ideas and produce to can. Yesterday I made a good pear and dried cherry chutney, very Pacific NW. But I also ended up making carrot apple butter w/ cardomon, rhubarb and carrot jam, and more mango chutney. All of them are delicious, but none really ring my bell.

A couple of questions for my reader. First, when I use somebody’s recipe, should I acknowlege them, and to what level. I used Alton Brown’s mango chutney recipe, but not exactly. I’ll certainly tell people if asked, but I’m not going to put it on the jar. Second, to what extent should I pander to the tastes of my customers. I’ve already bent my prejudices by making pepper jelly.

I’m trying to get into another market — hopefully Issaquah on Saturdays. More on that later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Jam Business

  1. Bridget says:

    Nice to come across jam maker. Good luck with your endeavours.

Leave a Reply

